Why I care.

So you might be wondering, why did this girl decide to write a blog dedicated to the environment? Well, here’s the story.

My freshman year of college I was randomly assigned to a mandatory colloquium course titled, “Whiskey’s for Drinking, Water’s for Fighting.” Though I went in with no idea of what to expect, the professor really¬†opened my eyes to the critical water shortages in the West that I had never really comprehended. I mean, I grew up in Minnesota, the Land of Ten Thousand Lakes, where basically you dig a hole and it will fill up with water. I learned about the complexities of water issues, which involve domestic needs, agricultural economies, energy production, fish populations, Native American cultures, and the list goes on. Add to these factors a dramatic history of corruption and power struggles over obtaining water, and I was hooked.

The U.S. and the world face many environmental problems today, such as deforestation, climate change, and water shortages, just to name a few. I want people to care about these critical issues as much as I do, so it bothers me that so many people just leave these issues to be solved by someone else. I know there is not an easy solution for any environmental issue, but I want to help as much as I am able. I am currently a Research and Publications Intern at the Environmental Law Institute and I have focused my college studies on environmental policy and politics. I hope to one day become an environmental lawyer with the passion and ability to address environmental policy flaws.

As a college student I know it is difficult to find time to volunteer and give back to the environment. I have to balance challenging classes, a part-time job, an internship, tennis practices and conditioning, and other activities while still finding time to sleep a little bit. But, as a busy student I also know that even the busiest student could always find a few hours a month to volunteer. So, I have decided that I am going to take advantage of my one semester in DC and get involved in the environmental organizations that DC has to offer, and I want to help other college students do the same.

Leave a Reply

